Front Cover
Charnwood, 1996 - Fiction - 688 pages
0 Reviews
Tamarisk, daughter of the beautiful Mavreen and a French Vicomte has inherited her mother's exquisite beauty and her passionate, impulsive nature. But the two women are rivals. Tamarisk is irresistibly drawn to her mother's former lover, Sir Peregrine Waite. But he only sees her as a child and does not yield to her loving advances. Burning with fury and humiliation at his rejection, Tamarisk becomes involved with a notorious philanderer and finds herself plunged into disgrace and degradation. And despite the dangerous secret she had discovered, her love for Sir Peregrine remains.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1996)

Patricia Robins was born on February 1, 1921. After being educated in Switzerland and Germany, she became a journalist. Her first job was as a junior editor with Women's Illustrated magazine. During World War II, she joined the Women's Auxiliary Air Force. Because of her language skills, she was given the job of tracking incoming enemy aircraft using the new British radar system in the filter room. She used bad weather breaks to write stories for women's magazines to earn money for gasoline so that she and her girlfriends could attend NAAFI dances. She became a romance novelist who wrote 160 novels during her lifetime including Mavreen, Tamarisk, Ortolans, Deception, The Faithful Heart, and You Never Know. She also wrote under the pen names Claire Lorrimer and Susan Patrick. She received an Outstanding Achievement Award by the Romantic Novelists' Association. She died from complications following a fall earlier in the year on December 4, 2016 at the age of 95.

Bibliographic information