Tansy and the 2,000 Earthquakes

Front Cover
Xlibris Corporation LLC, 2012 - Fiction - 172 pages
0 Reviews
Tansy, her mother, and two brothers leave Pennsylvania by flatboat for New Madrid, Missouri in 1811. An accident takes the lives of the boys, and her mother's body is not found. Life with Tansy's ailing aunt and superstitious uncle is strained. Baby Letty provides Tansy's only pleasure. When the first earthquake occurs, Uncle Silas disappears taking the baby. Elder Jamison moves in to help and rebuilds the damaged fireplace. He proposes to Tansy, but she is unsure. A timber falls on her leg during the third earthquake, breaking it. Elder Jamison and Aunt Mary flee in terror leaving Tansy unconscious and alone. Hungry and helpless, she despairs of life. A young Negro, an Indian, and a surprise visitor complicate her life, but she finally findspurpose although she wonders if such knowledge always comes with suffering.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Other editions - View all

Bibliographic information