Tao: the watercourse way

Front Cover
Pantheon Books, Oct 1, 1975 - Religion - 134 pages
6 Reviews
Drawing on ancient and modern sources, Watts treats the Chinese philosophy of Tao in much the same way as he did Zen Buddhism in his classic The Way of Zen. Critics agree that this last work stands as a perfect monument to the life and literature of Alan Watts.--Publisher description.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - gbill - LibraryThing

Published posthumously a couple years after Watts’ death in 1973 at the age of 58, and perhaps a little incomplete as a result, this is nevertheless one of the better and more readable descriptions of ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - aleahmarie - LibraryThing

Tao: The Watercourse Way, the final work by philosopher Alan Watts, was published posthumously in 1975. This is the first book I've read that was penned by Watts himself and I was so pleasantly ... Read full review


Too 37

2 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1975)

Alan Watts was born in England in 1915 and received his early education at King's School, Canterbury. He received a master's degree from Seabury-Western Theological Seminary in Illinois and an honorary doctorate of divinity from the University of Vermont. He wrote his first book, The Spirit of Zen, at the age of twenty and went on to write over twenty other books including The Way of Zen, The Book, and Tao: The Watercourse Way, which though never fully completed was published after the author's death and introduced thousands of readers to Taoist thought.
In addition to being an acclaimed author and philosopher, Dr. Watts was also an Episcopalian minister, professor, graduate-school dean and reasearch fellow of Harvard University. By the early 1960s, he moved to Sausolito, California, and held seminars and lectures throughout the United States. Alan Watts died in 1973.

Bibliographic information