Thale's Folly

Front Cover
Compass Press, 1999 - Fiction - 212 pages
2 Reviews
At the request of his father, New York City novelist Andrew Thale tackles an odd assignment -- to check out an old family properly in western Massachusetts, neglected since Aunt Harriet Thale's death years ago.

Much odder is what he finds. Far from being deserted, Thale's Folly is fully inhabited -- by a quartet of charming squatters, former "guests" of kindhearted Aunt Harriet. There is elegant Miss L'Hommedieu, Gussie the witch, Leo the bibliophile, and beautiful nineteen-year-old Tarragon, who is unlike any girl Andrew has ever met in Manhattan.

Andrew is entranced by these unworldly creatures and their simple life. Yet all is not well in Thale's Folly. A thief breaks into the farmhouse, and an old friend of tile "family" disappears. While the peace that appears to have been Aunt Harriet's only legacy to her companions is destroyed, Andrew and Tarragon are drawn into mysteries they cannot fathom. But, for the first time, Andrew begins to understand that love and loyalty are life's greatest treasures.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

Thale's Folly

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

The creator of the Mrs. Pollifax mysteries introduces a new protagonist--a struggling young novelist whose father asks him to investigate the family property left when Aunt Harriet died. There he finds a bunch of squatters and gets drawn into a mystery. Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Greymowser - LibraryThing

A sweet book. Great characters. Read full review


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

11 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1999)

Dorothy Gilman was born in New Brunswick, New Jersey on June 25, 1923. She studied at the Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts. Under her married name, Dorothy Gilman Butters, she began publishing children's books in the late 1940s including Enchanted Caravan and The Bells of Freedom. In 1966, she published The Unexpected Mrs. Pollifax, which became the first novel in the Mrs. Pollifax Mystery series. The series concluded in 2000 with Mrs. Pollifax Unveiled. The series was the basis of two movies: the 1971 feature film Mrs. Pollifax - Spy starring Rosalind Russell and the 1999 television movie The Unexpected Mrs. Pollifax starring Angela Lansbury. Her other works include The Clairvoyant Countess, Incident at Badamya and Kaleidoscope. A Nun in the Closet won a Catholic Book Award. She died due to complications of Alzheimer's disease on February 2, 2012 at the age of 88.

Bibliographic information