The Beauty I Have Seen: A Trilogy

Front Cover
African Books Collective, 2010 - Poetry - 154 pages
0 Reviews
The Beauty I Have Seen. A Trilogy comprises three phases in a poetic journey, ranging from the poet (here called a minstrel) as a public figure, a traveller and observer of humanity, to one grounded in the landscape and fate of his native land. In the various sections of "The Beauty I have Seen", "Doors of the Forest" and "Flow and other Poems", Tanure Ojaide expresses multifarious experiences, private and public, that capture the poet's sensitive life in sensuous images. In these poems that flow like a narrative, form and content fuse into a mature poetic voice at once passionate and restrained, relaxed and poignant.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Selected pages


I The Beauty I Have Seen
II Doors of the Forest Other Poems
III Flow Other Poems
Back cover

Common terms and phrases

Bibliographic information