The Best of Zane Grey: 3 Classic Western Novels Complete and Unabridged

Front Cover
Allen & Unwin, 2009 - Western stories - 656 pages
0 Reviews
"Riders of the Purple Sage is a thrilling saga set in the Utah/Arizona border country, featuring a despicable villain and a straight-shootin' hero in a tale of passion, rivalry and revenge. The Trail Driver harbours a bizarre secret - a heroine disguised as a boy - among a cast of hard-bitten, weather-beaten characters driving four thousand head of cattle north out of Texas, braving the weather, marauding outlaws and hostile Indians along the way. Rangers of the Lone Star has Texas Ranger Russ Sittell working undercover on a ranch to break a rustling ring, a dangerous assignment made all the more hazardous by the fact that the rance owner is the local Mayor, a powerful man who doesn't take kindly to interfering strangers."--Publisher.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

About the author (2009)

Zane Grey was born Pearl Zane Gray in 1872, in Zanesville, Ohio. He studied dentistry at the University of Pennsylvania, married Lina Elise Roth in 1905, then moved his family west where he began to write novels. The author of 86 books, he is today considered the father of the Western genre, with its heady romances and mysterious outlaws. Riders of the Purple Sage (1912) brought Grey his greatest popular acclaim. Other notable titles include The Light of Western Stars (1914) and The Vanishing American (1925). An extremely prolific writer, he often completed three novels a year, while his publisher would issue only one at a time. Twenty-five of his novels were published posthumously. His last, The Reef Girl, was published in 1977. Zane Grey died of heart failure on October 23 in Altadena, California, in 1939.

Bibliographic information