The Bureaucratic Entrepreneur: How to Be Effective in Any Unruly Organization

Front Cover
Brookings Institution Press, May 1, 1999 - Business & Economics - 220 pages
1 Review

How do you figure out what to do in a job? How do you get it done? How should you deal with demanding bosses? How can you get the most out of subordinates? What should you do to get along with difficult colleagues and handle powerful interest groups and the media? Just how can you succeed in a world where persuasion rather than direct command is the rule? Using a compass as his operating metaphor--your boss is north of you, your staff is south, colleagues are east and so on--Richard Haass provides clear, practical guidelines for setting goals and translating goals into results. The result is a lively, useful book for the tens of millions of Americans working in complex and unruly organizations of every sort and for students of both public administration and business. The Bureaucratic Entrepreneur is a new and updated edition of Haass's 1994 book, The Power to Persuade.

 

What people are saying - Write a review

The power to persuade

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

In the tradition of Dale Carnegie, Haass presents a reader-friendly guide to making positive progress toward goal accomplishment for managers at all levels. Real-world situations and the experiences ... Read full review

Contents

Finding Your Way
1
You
15
Those for Whom You Work
55
Those Who Work for You
80
Those with Whom You Work
119
Those with Whom You Should Work
145
Back to the Center
176
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

About the author (1999)

Richard N. Haass is president of the Council on Foreign Relations. Until June 2003 he was director of policy planning for the Department of State, where he was a principal adviser to Secretary of State Colin Powell on a broad range of foreign policy concerns. Previously, Haass was vice president and director of Foreign Policy Studies at the Brookings Institution. He was also special assistant to President George H. W. Bush and senior director for Near East and South Asian affairs on the staff of the National Security Council, 1989-93. He is the author or editor of ten books in American foreign policy, including The Opportunity: America's Moment to Alter History's Course.

Bibliographic information