The Carnelian Throne

Front Cover
Amazon Digital Services LLC - KDP Print US, Jan 30, 2017 - 312 pages
The Carnelian Throne is Volume 4 in Janet Morris' bestselling Silistra Quartet. Still controversial after five decades, this Perseid Press edition has been expanded and revised by the author. Estri is a god, daughter of light. Chayin is a god, son of darkness. Sereth is 'hase-enor, ' son of all flesh. Lovers and friends, could they be the prophesied three who would wield the Sword of Severance, Se'Keroth, and bring light out of dark? "One from the east, born of ease and destined; One from north of south, divine, exempt of question; The third from out the west, astride a tide of death," quoted Chayin. He was not smiling. It is a long epic. All has been foreseen. We all know that tale's end." -- Estri Hadrath diet Estrazi in Wind from the Abyss by Janet Morris ***** "Engrossing characters in a marvelous adventure." -- C. Brown, Locus Magazine ***** "The amazing and exotic adventures of the most beautiful courtesan in tomorrow's universe." -- Frederik Pohl ***** "The best single example of prostitution used in fantasy is in Janet Morris' Silistra series: High Couch of Silistra (originally entitled Returning Creation), The Golden Sword, Wind from the Abyss, and The Carnelian Throne." -- Anne K. Kaler, "The Picara: From Hera to Fantasy Heroine." ***** "[...] today I thought I'd look at one of the most successful fantasy debuts of all time, a series that became a huge international hit with its first release, launching the career of one of the most prolific fantasy writers of the late 20th Century: Janet Morris' The Silistra Quartet. The Silistra Quartet began with Janet's first novel, High Couch of Silistra [...] from Bantam Books in 1977 [, ] the far-future tale of the colony planet of Silistra, still recovering from an ancient war that left the planet scarred and much of the population infertile. With a dangerously low birth-rate, it's not long before the human colonists of Silistra develop a new social order, with a hierarchy based on fertility and sexual prowess. "All told, there were four volumes in what came to be known as The Silistra Quartet [...]. "High Couch of Silistra (1977) [...] The Golden Sword (1977) Wind from the Abyss(1978) The Carnelian Throne (1979) -- John O'Neill in Black Gate Adventures in Fantasy Literature

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Other editions - View all

About the author (2017)

Best selling author Janet Morris began writing in 1976 and has since published more than 30 novels. She wrote the bestselling Silistra Quartet in the 1970s, including High Couch of Silistra, The Golden Sword, Wind from the Abyss, and The Carnelian Throne. This quartet had more than four million copies in Bantam print alone, and was translated into German, French, Italian, Russian and other languages. In the 1980s, Baen Books released a second edition of this landmark series. This third edition is the Author's Cut edition, newly revised by the author for Perseid Press. Most of her fiction work has been in the fantasy and science fiction genres, although she has also written historical and other novels. Morris has written, contributed to, or edited several book-length works of nonfiction, as well as papers and articles on nonlethal weapons, developmental military technology and other defense and national security topics.

Bibliographic information