The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls

Front Cover
Simon and Schuster, Aug 28, 2012 - Juvenile Fiction - 352 pages
At the Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls, you will definitely learn your lesson. An atmospheric, heartfelt, and delightfully spooky novel for fans of Coraline, Splendors and Glooms, and The Mysterious Benedict Society.

Victoria hates nonsense. There is no need for it when your life is perfect. The only smudge on her pristine life is her best friend Lawrence. He is a disaster—lazy and dreamy, shirt always untucked, obsessed with his silly piano. Victoria often wonders why she ever bothered being his friend. (Lawrence does, too.)

But then Lawrence goes missing. And he’s not the only one. Victoria soon discovers that The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls is not what it appears to be. Kids go in but come out…different. Or they don’t come out at all.

If anyone can sort this out, it’s Victoria—even if it means getting a little messy.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - amandabock - LibraryThing

Delightfully creepy, and I don't really like creepy stories. I will be sure to recommend this to fans of Coraline. Both have creepy substitute parents (and others), as well as acid-trip horror scenes ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - roses7184 - LibraryThing

The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls Are you ready for something different? Ready for something deliciously creepy? Brace yourself and open the pages of Claire Legrand's The Cavendish Home for Boys ... Read full review

Contents

Section 1
1
Section 2
18
Section 3
37
Section 4
57
Section 5
79
Section 6
106
Section 7
121
Section 8
131
Section 14
215
Section 15
229
Section 16
243
Section 17
261
Section 18
276
Section 19
302
Section 20
315
Section 21
321

Section 9
155
Section 10
172
Section 11
179
Section 12
188
Section 13
204
Section 22
340
Section 23
347
Section 24
357
Section 25
359
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2012)

Claire Legrand used to be a musician until she realized she couldn’t stop thinking about the stories in her head. Now Ms. Legrand is a full-time writer living in New Jersey. She has written two middle grade novels—The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls, one of the New York Public Library’s 100 Titles for Reading and Sharing in 2012, and The Year of Shadows—as well as the young adult novel Winterspell. Visit her at Claire-Legrand.com and on Twitter @ClaireLegrand.

Sarah Watts is an illustrator of fabric lines, books, and other printed delights. She is married to an adventure junkie and she collects old treasures. Sarah is also the Alumni Board of Trustee member for Ringling College of Art and Design (RACD).

Bibliographic information