The Circus of Dr. Lao

Front Cover
U of Nebraska Press, Apr 1, 2002 - Fiction - 154 pages
4 Reviews
Abalone, Arizona, is a sleepy southwestern town whose chief concerns are boredom and surviving the Great Depression. That is, until the circus of Dr. Lao arrives and immensely°and irrevocably changes the lives of everyone drawn to its tents. ° Expecting a sideshow spectacle, the citizens of Abalone instead confront and learn profound lessons from the mythical made real--a chimera, a Medusa, a talking sphinx, a sea serpent, witches, the Hound of the Hedges, a werewolf, a mermaid, an ancient god, and the elusive, ever-changing Dr. Lao. The circus unfolds, spinning magical, dark strands that ensnare the town's populace: the sea serpent's tale shatters love's illusions; the fortune-teller's shocking pronouncements toll the tedium and secret dread of every person's life; sensual undercurrents pour forth for men and women alike; and the dead walk again. ° Dazzling and macabre, literary and philosophical, The Circus of Dr. Lao has been acclaimed as a masterpiece of speculative fiction and influenced such writers as Ray Bradbury. This Bison Frontiers of Imagination edition features a new introduction by noted fantasy writer John Marco and striking illustrations by Boris Artzybasheff from the first edition.

What people are saying - Write a review

Review: The Circus of Dr. Lao

User Review  - Rose Reid - Goodreads

I really enjoyed this book. I find it incredible that it was written so long ago because the sensibility is very current. The use of language was over the top and fantastic. I found myself ... Read full review

Review: The Circus of Dr. Lao

User Review  - Lynda - Goodreads

One of the most unique fantasy novel that I have ever read. Read full review

Selected pages



Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

All Book Search results »

About the author (2002)

Charles G. Finney (1905?84) was a newspaperman and a writer based in Arizona. John Marco is the author of the Tyrants and Kings series, whose books include The Jackal of Nar, The Grand Design, and The Saints of the Sword.

Bibliographic information