The Collected Stories of Lydia Davis

Front Cover
Farrar, Straus and Giroux, Oct 26, 2010 - Fiction - 752 pages

Lydia Davis is one of our most original and influential writers. She has been called "an American virtuoso of the short story form" (Salon) and "one of the quiet giants . . . of American fiction" (Los Angeles Times Book Review). Now, for the first time, Davis's short stories will be collected in one volume, from the groundbreaking Break It Down (1986) to the 2007 National Book Award nominee Varieties of Disturbance.

The Collected Stories of Lydia Davis is an event in American letters.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - stef7sa - LibraryThing

Many of these "stories" are more like short observations and, to me, not very special ones at that. A few do make you smile, most leave me indifferent. Not my cup of tea. Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - mausergem - LibraryThing

Lydia Davis is a short story writer. She was awarded the Man Booker International prize in 2013. She from her writing seems to be a middle aged woman recently divorced with identity issues. Her ... Read full review

All 8 reviews »

Other editions - View all

About the author (2010)

Lydia Davis is the author of one novel and seven story collections, the most recent of which was a finalist for the 2007 National Book Award. She is the acclaimed translator of a new edition of Swann's Way and is at work on a new translation of Madame Bovary.

Bibliographic information