The Collectors

Front Cover
HarperCollins, Oct 9, 2018 - Juvenile Fiction - 384 pages
1 Review

Even the smallest wish can be dangerous. That’s why the Collectors are always keeping watch.

The Collectors sweeps readers into a hidden world where wishes are stolen and dreams have a price. Fast-paced, witty, and riveting, this contemporary fantasy adventure has magic woven through every page.

It's the first book in a two-book series from Jacqueline West, the New York Times–bestselling author of The Books of Elsewhere series. For fans of Serafina and the Black Cloak, The Isle of the Lost, and The Secret Keepers.

Van has always been an outsider. Most people don’t notice him. But he notices them. And he notices the small trinkets they drop, or lose, or throw away—that’s why his collection is full of treasures. Then one day, Van notices a girl stealing pennies from a fountain, and everything changes. He follows the girl, Pebble, and uncovers an underground world full of wishes and the people who collect them. Apparently not all wishes are good and even good wishes often have unintended consequences—and the Collectors have made it their duty to protect us. But they aren't the only ones who have their eyes on the world’s wishes—and they may not be the good guys, after all.  

Jacqueline West, author of the New York Times–bestselling Books of Elsewhere series, draws readers into a story about friendship, magic, and the gray area between good and evil. The Collectors is for fans of Cassie Beasley’s Circus Mirandus and Jonathan Auxier’s The Night Gardener.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

The Collectors

User Review  - www.publishersweekly.com

With an opera singer mother who performs around the world, 11-year-old Van Markson is used to being a new kid, and his taste in books and movies, along with “a tiny blue hearing aid behind each ear ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - PattyLouise - LibraryThing

The Collectors By Jacqueline West What it's all about... Van is the young son of a famous opera singer. They live wherever his mother sings. This makes Van the newest kid in his class...wherever they ... Read full review

Contents

Small Things
A Damp Squirrel
SuperVan
Something Dark
Petty Theft
Spy vs
Underground
The Collection
We Will Come for
Unexpected Guests
More Unexpected Guests
A New
A Change of Plan
Down to the Dark
Razor
Hot Dog with the Works Pizza

A Serious Mistake
Hair Wreaths and Even Stranger Things

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2018)

Jacqueline West is the author of the award-winning and bestselling Books of Elsewhere series. Her short fiction and poetry appear in a variety of publications. She is also a classically trained singer and an actress, and she still performs with local theatre troupes. She lives with her family in Red Wing, Minnesota. www.jacquelinewest.com

Bibliographic information