The Color of Earth, Volume 1

Front Cover
Macmillan, Mar 31, 2009 - Comics & Graphic Novels - 319 pages

First love is never easy.

Ehwa grows up helping her widowed mother run the local tavern, watching as their customers – both neighbors and strangers – look down on her mother for her single lifestyle. Their social status isolates Ehwa and her mother from the rest of the people in their quiet country village. But as she gets older and sees her mother fall in love again, Ehwa slowly begins to open up to the possibility of love in her life.

In the tradition of My Antonia and A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, from the pen of the renowned Korean manwha creator Kim Dong Hwa, comes a trilogy about a girl coming of age, set in the vibrant, beautiful landscape of pastoral Korea.

 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
15
4 stars
46
3 stars
21
2 stars
4
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - SamMusher - www.librarything.com

This was delightful! Gorgeous art, and the translation seams are invisible (I get really annoyed when the English sounds obviously translated). It's very much about a young girl growing into her ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - mrsdanaalbasha - LibraryThing

I got to say the book surprised me, it's not what I expected, though I should have known from the cover, the girl is standing shyly but she's holding her skirt high. It's a coming-of-age story about a ... Read full review

Contents

The Stinky Poo Tree
42
Chapter Three The Gourd Flower
73
Chapter Four The Tiger Lily
103
Chapter Five The Camellia Seeds
133
Chapter Six The Spring Rain Tells Me to Blossom into a Flower
163
Chapter Seven Love Is in the Air
193
Chapter Eight The Scent of Fresh Young Greens
223
Chapter Nine A Young Heart
253
Chapter Ten Unrequited Love
283
Afterword Painting the Lives of Women with Rain and Flowers by Hwang MinHo
314
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2009)

Kim Dong Hwa is the author of many graphic novels - or manwha, as they are called in Korea, where he lives. His books include the popular work My Sky and the literary piece The Red Bicycle .

Bibliographic information