The Complete Novels of the Bronte Sisters

Front Cover
Joe Books Ltd, Nov 18, 2014 - Fiction - 1000 pages

This special ebook edition includes all of the Bronte sisters' published works: Agnes Grey, and The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Bronte, Jane Eyre, Shirley, Villette, and The Professor by Charlotte Bronte, and Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte.


Selected pages

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2014)

English novelist and poet Anne Brontė was the youngest, and least recognized, member of the Brontė literary family. She wrote a volume of poetry with her sisters, Charlotte and Emily, before publishing two novels under the name Acton Bell. Brontė achieved modest success with her first novel, Agnes Grey, which was based on her time working as a governess, but her second novel, The Tenant of Wildfell Hall was a triumph, selling out in just six weeks. The Tenant of Wildfell Hall is also considered one of the first feminist novels, with depictions of alcoholism and immorality that were profoundly disturbing in the 19th century. Brontė died of tuberculosis in 1849 at the age of 29. Collectively, the Brontė sisters' novels are considered literary standards that continue to influence modern writers.

Bibliographic information