The Complete Stories Of Truman Capote

Front Cover
Random House, 2005 - Fiction - 300 pages
3 Reviews
A landmark collection that brings together Truman Capoteís lifeís work in the form he called his 'great love', The Complete Stories confirms Capoteís status as a master of the the short story. This first-ever compendium features a never-before-published 1950 story, 'The Bargain', as well as an introduction by Reynolds Price. Ranging from the gothic South to the chic East Coast, from rural children to aging urban sophisticates, all the unforgettable places and people of Capoteís oeuvre are here, in stories as elegant as they are heartfelt, as haunting as they are compassionate. Reading them reminds us of the miraculous gifts of a beloved American original.

What people are saying - Write a review

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

Truman Capote's use of words are simply wonderful. How clearly they convey and captivate.

Review: The Complete Stories

User Review  - Kris - Goodreads

Reading this made me all the more sad that Capote died young - boy could he write! I adore the short story genre and this gave me a lot to like. If you think that Capote was all about New York high ... Read full review


The Walls Are Cold
A Mink oFOnes Own
The Shape of Things
ug of Silver
My Side of the Matter
Preachers Legend
The Headless Hawk
Children on Their Birthdays
Master Misery
A Diamond Guitar
A Christmas Memory
Among the Paths to Eden
The Thanksgiving Visitor
Story Credits

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2005)

TRUMAN CAPOTE was born in New Orleans on September 30, 1924. In 1948 his first novel, Other Voices, Other Rooms, was published to international critical acclaim, assuring Capote a place among the prominent postwar American writers. He won the O. Henry Memorial Short Story Prize twice and was a member of the National Institute of Arts and Letters. His other works include Breakfast at Tiffany's, The Grass Harp, and the nonfiction masterpiece In Cold Blood. He died on August 25, 1984.

REYNOLDS PRICE is the James B. Duke Professor of English at Duke University and the distinguished author of more than twenty-five books of fiction, poetry, drama, and essays. He lives in North Carolina.

Bibliographic information