The Devil's Other Storybook

Front Cover
Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR), Oct 12, 2010 - Juvenile Fiction - 96 pages

The Devil is back, just as full of vanity and other human feelings as he was in Natalie Babbitt's first collection, The Devil's Storybook.


What people are saying - Write a review


User Review  - Kirkus

Rejoice! Here are ten more stories about the devil to add to Babbitt's wonderful first collection, The Devil's Storybook. Mostly situated in the life hereafter, where Babbitt pictures an indolent ... Read full review

Selected pages


The Fortunes of Madame Organza
The Soldier
How Akbar Went to Bethlehem
The Signpost
The Fall and Rise of Bathbone
Simple Sentences

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2010)

Artist and writer Natalie Babbitt (1932–2016) is the award-winning author of the modern classic Tuck Everlasting and many other brilliantly original books for young people. As the mother of three small children, she began her career in 1966 by illustrating The Forty-Ninth Magician, written by her husband, Samuel Babbitt. She soon tried her own hand at writing, publishing two picture books in verse. Her first novel, TheSearch for Delicious, was published in 1969 and established her reputation for creating magical tales with profound meaning. Kneeknock Rise earned Babbitt a Newbery Honor in 1971, and she went on to write—and often illustrate—many more picture books, story collections,and novels. She also illustrated the five volumes in the Small Poems series by Valerie Worth. In 2002, Tuck Everlasting was adapted into a major motion picture, and in 2016 a musical version premiered on Broadway. Born and raised in Ohio, Natalie Babbitt lived her adult life in the Northeast.

Bibliographic information