The First Four Years

Front Cover
Lutterworth Press, 1973 - Farm life - 138 pages
2 Reviews
This work tells of Laura's marriage to Almanzo and describes their first years together on a homestead and tree claim on the South Dakota praire. The making of a home and the birth of their daughter Rose brought them joy, but they met too with sadness, hardship and disaster.

What people are saying - Write a review

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

I believe that book #9 of the Little House series is actually my favorite. It's the last one, and it shows how Laura and Almanzo "get together". Such a sweet story! I so enjoyed learning about the first years of their marriage, and how they barely scraped by, yet loved each other through it all. I wish the Little House series didn't have to end here! After finishing "The First Four Years" I found myself now desiring to find out more about Laura's life beyond what she penned in her books. I hope to locate some biographies and do some historical research on this someday. 

Other editions - View all

References to this book

All Book Search results »

About the author (1973)

Wilder was born near Pepin, Wisconsin; attended school in DeSmet, South Dakota; and became a teacher before she was 16, teaching for seven years in Dakota Territory schools. She and her husband, Almanzo Wilder, farmed near DeSmet for about nine years and then moved to Mansfield, Missouri, where they lived out the rest of their days. Wilder did not write her first book, Little House in the Big Woods, about her early years in Wisconsin, until late in life, on the urging of her daughter, Rose Wilder Lane. It was first published in 1932. She followed this with Farmer Boy (1933), a book about her husband's childhood in New York State. She then completed a series of books about her life as she and her family moved westward along the frontier. Little House on the Prairie (1935) records the family's move to Kansas. On the Banks of Plum Creek (1937) describes the family's move to Minnesota. By the Shores of Silver Lake (1939) records the family's move to South Dakota, as do the final three books in the series: The Long Winter, Little Town on the Prairie (1941), and These Happy Golden Years (1943), which ends with her marriage to Almanzo Wilder. Three of Wilder's books were published posthumously: On the Way Home, a diary of her trip to Mansfield; The First Four Years, an unfinished book about her first four years of marriage; and West from Home, letters she wrote on a visit to her daughter in San Francisco, none of them up to the quality of her earlier books. At her best, Wilder employs a clear, simple style, a wealth of fascinating detail, and a straightforward narrative style. Her tales of a strong, traditional frontier family that endures the hardships of the late eighteenth century are seen through the eyes of a child, which endears them to young readers. Her work is possibly the best example of historical realistic fiction for children.

Bibliographic information