The Fourth Man: The Definitive Account of Kim Philby, Guy Burgess, and Donald Maclean and who Recruited Them to Spy for Russia

Front Cover
Dial Press, 1979 - Education - 504 pages
On May 25, 1951, at the height of the cold war, two British diplomats, Guy Burgess and Donald Maclean, disappeared from Great Britain just as they were about to be apprehended as spies for the Soviet Union. The defection of these members of the establishment stunned the nation. The notorious case was reopened by the serialization in The (London) Observer of Andrew Boyle's book, "The Climate of Treason: Five Who Spied for Russia" which implied that "the fourth man," the Soviet agent who had tipped off Burgess and Maclean that British Intelligence was hot on their trail, was 72 year-old Sir Anthony Blunt, the highly respected art historian and Surveyor of the Queen's Pictures. A political storm swept Parliament when it learned that Sir Anthony had been granted immunity from prosecution when he secretly confessed to espionage in 1969, and that the Queen had long had in her employ a former spy (who was quickly stripped of his knighthood). Mr. Boyle seeks to explain how intelligent middle-class and upper middle-class students might have become Communists and traitors in the 30's: the postwar failure of nerve, the decline of empire, the disarray of the Labor Party, massive unemployment, boredom and so on. He absorbs with an account of upper-class flirtations with Fascism, with the memories of men and women who knew the three way back when, with digressions into the minds of ministers and poets.

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Jcambridge -

I am a fan of Scandinavian thrillers and this one did not disappoint. I read it in a single sitting and will definitely be checking other books by K. O. Dahl. I recommend it to those who enjoy this ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Sable677 - LibraryThing

The Fourth Man is the first book that I have read by Dahl. It was a book lent to me by a friend so I wasn't sure what to expect. I read it pretty quickly and enjoyed the overall story. I did have a ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (1979)

TOBY FORWARD is the author of many books for children, including SHAKESPEARE'S GLOBE. He has also written for adults and is currently working on a Victorian detective story. Toby Forward lives in Liverpool, England, with his wife and two daughters.
IZHAR COHEN's artwork has appeared in everything from the pages of the TIMES of London to postage stamps and calendars. THE WOLF'S STORY is his first book with Candlewick Press. Izhar Cohen lives in Israel with his wife and daughter.

Bibliographic information