The Gypsy Crown

Front Cover
Pan Macmillan, 2008 - Children's stories - 202 pages
2 Reviews
The paperbacks of the exciting new six-book series by the bestselling author, Kate ForsythBook 1 - 9th-12th August, 1658:Once there was a gypsy queen who wore on her wrist a chain of six lucky charms - a golden crown, a silver horse, a butterfly caught in amber, a cat's eye shell, a bolt of lightning forged from the heart of a falling star, and the flower of the rue plant, herb of grace. The queen gave each of her six children one of the charms as their lucky talisman, but ever since the chain of charms was broken, the gypsies had been dogged with misfortune.Life had always been hard for the gypsies, who live to their own rhythm and their own rules, but since Oliver Cromwell had seized control of England, life had been harder - and drabber - than ever. But now life for the Finch tribe has gone even more horribly wrong. They have been accused of vagrancy and murder, and thrown into gaol with only three weeks to live. The only members of the family to escape are 13-year-old Emilia and her cousin Luka. They have been entrusted to find the six charms and bring them together again. Then, perhaps, the gypsies could once again have some luck... And the Finch tribe could walk free. What Emilia and Luka do not realise is that there is a price to be paid for each lucky charm, and that the cost may prove too high...

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - KarenLeeField - LibraryThing

This is the first book in a series of six. It is the story of two gypsy families meeting to come to a marriage agreement for two of their teenagers. After the deal is made, one family heads off to a ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Tsana - LibraryThing

Not a bad book, but I didn't feel it was able to bridge the age gap. This isn't necessarily a bad thing, because it isn't trying to be anything other than a children's book, but it meant I didn't ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2008)

Kate Forsyth is a bestselling author across several genres. Her titles include the Witches of Eileanan series and The Starthorn Tree. Wishing for Trouble follows Dragon Gold in her illustrated children's series, Ben and Tim's Magical Misadventures. Kate lives with her husband, three children and a black cat called Shadow in Sydney.Jeremy Reston is a young up-and-coming illustrator. He has illustrated some of the Quentaris Chronicles and the covers of the Danika books. He is currently working on a picture book by Gary Crew.

Bibliographic information