The Hermit Thrush Sings

Front Cover
Random House Children's Books, 2001 - Juvenile Fiction - 288 pages
3 Reviews
"In the tradition of Lois Lowry's The Giver, "Susan Butler's futuristic first novel tells the triumphant story of Leora's refusal to conform to the rigid rules set forth by a tyrannical government.
Leora has a gift, and a secret. She can see things no one else can, but can only draw them with her one webbed hand.
Several generations have passed since North America was struck by a meteor that changed life forever. Now, Leora lives safely locked inside the walls of Village Three. Only the guards and croptenders are allowed out, where the world is said to be undeveloped and dangerous. Leora's heard stories of the ferocious birmbas -- half bear, half gorilla -- that resulted from the meteor. Mutants cannot be trusted.
But Leora herself is considered a "defective" with her hidden hand and gift. When she risks her life to free a baby birmba, she finds the courage to escape beyond the tyrannical walls without knowing what she may find.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

I read this book as a kid and I read it as an adult. This is one of the best books I have ever had the honor to read.

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

This is one of my favorite books. I've re-read this book many times. Its a timeless classic that almost all age groups could understand. I started reading this book when I was a young girl and i've read it at least twice every year since. Its an amazing book that I definitely recommend

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2001)

This is Susan Butler's first young adult novel.

Bibliographic information