The Innocent Man: Murder and Injustice in a Small Town

Front Cover
Random House Publishing Group, Mar 16, 2010 - True Crime - 448 pages
75 Reviews

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • In the vein of Serial and Making a Murderer, John Grisham’s first work of nonfiction will terrify anyone who believes in the presumption of innocence. Impeccably researched, grippingly told, filled with eleventh-hour drama, it’s a book no American can afford to miss.
 
In the town of Ada, Oklahoma, Ron Williamson was going to be the next Mickey Mantle. But on his way to the Big Leagues, Ron stumbled, his dreams broken by drinking, drugs, and women. Then, on a winter night in 1982, not far from Ron’s home, a young cocktail waitress named Debra Sue Carter was savagely murdered. The investigation led nowhere. Until, on the flimsiest evidence, it led to Ron Williamson. The washed-up small-town hero was charged, tried, and sentenced to death—in a trial littered with lying witnesses and tainted evidence that would shatter a man’s already broken life, and let a true killer go free.
 
Praise for The Innocent Man
 
“Grisham has written both an American tragedy and his strongest legal thriller yet, all the more gripping because it happens to be true.”Entertainment Weekly
 
“Grisham has crafted a legal thriller every bit as suspenseful and fast-paced as his bestselling fiction.”The Boston Globe
 
“A gritty, harrowing true-crime story.”Time
 
“A triumph.”—The Seattle Times

BONUS: This edition includes an excerpt from John Grisham’s The Litigators.

 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
13
4 stars
33
3 stars
15
2 stars
9
1 star
5

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - sparkleandchico - LibraryThing

I always feel a little guilty when starting a Grisham book as I know I will still be reading ten hours later...but at least this one is a true story so I feel like I learned something. The author is ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Rascalstar - LibraryThing

I listened to this book on CD and would recommend that it be read rather than listened to. Although the story is good and is nonfiction, there is almost no dialog in the book, which makes it drone ... Read full review

Selected pages

Contents

Section 1
1
Section 2
22
Section 3
48
Section 4
64
Section 5
88
Section 6
108
Section 7
139
Section 8
171
Section 12
267
Section 13
287
Section 14
307
Section 15
330
Section 16
347
Section 17
371
Section 18
379
Section 19
392

Section 9
202
Section 10
228
Section 11
253
Section 20
397
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2010)

John Grisham is the author of twenty-eight novels, one work of nonfiction, a collection of stories, and six novels for young readers.




From the Paperback edition.

Bibliographic information