The Irrational Season

Front Cover
Open Road Media, Nov 29, 2016 - Biography & Autobiography - 215 pages
The bestselling author of A Wrinkle in Time contemplates the true meaning of faith in the third installment of her series of memoirs.

Upon her death, the New York Times hailed Madeleine L’Engle as “an author whose childhood fables, religious meditations and fanciful science fiction transcended both genre and generation.” L’Engle has long captivated and provoked readers by exploring the intersection of science and religion in her work. In this intimate memoir, the award-winning author uncovers how her spiritual convictions inform and enrich the everyday.
The Irrational Season follows the liturgical year from one Advent to the next, with L’Engle reflecting on the changing seasons in her own life as a writer, wife, mother, and global citizen. Unafraid to discuss controversial topics and address challenging questions, L’Engle writes from the heart in this compelling chronicle of her spiritual quest to renew and refresh her faith in an ever-changing world and her ever-changing personhood.
This ebook features an illustrated biography of Madeleine L’Engle including rare images from the author’s estate.


What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - carlahaunted - LibraryThing having a breakfast nook or walk through the woods talk with Madeleine--the talk began about the liturgical year as delineated in the Book of Common Prayer, but has delightfully ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - deldevries - LibraryThing

Well written and easy to read. pages 48 and 49 contain the full text of an essay on marriage that has been excerpted down to a paragraph and used as a wedding reading. The full version has lots more details! Read full review

Selected pages


The Night Is Far Spent ADVENT
Sometimes I Forget to Tell You How Much I Love You CHRISTMAS
Rachel Weeping HOLY INNOCENTS 4 To a LongLoved Love EPIPHANY
Lion and Lamb LENT
The Noes of God GOOD FRIDAY 7 The Icon Tree EASTER
The Blue Balloon ASCENSION 9 Whispers PENTECOST
Show Me Your Hindquarters and Let Me Hear You Roar TRINITY
Setter and Swallow TRANSFIGURATION
The Day Is at Hand ADVENT
TwoPart Invention
A Biography of Madeleine LEngle

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2016)

Madeleine L’Engle (1918–2007) was an American author of more than sixty books, including novels for children and adults, poetry, and religious meditations. Her best-known work, A Wrinkle in Time, one of the most beloved young adult books of the twentieth century and a Newbery Medal winner, has sold more than fourteen million copies since its publication in 1962. Her other novels include A Wind in the Door, A Swiftly Tilting Planet, and A Ring of Endless Light. Born in New York City, L’Engle graduated from Smith College and worked in theater, where she met her husband, actor Hugh Franklin. L’Engle documented her marriage and family life in the four-book autobiographical series, the Crosswicks Journals. She also served as librarian and writer-in-residence at the Cathedral Church of Saint John the Divine in Manhattan for more than thirty years.

Bibliographic information