The La Mama Collection: Six Plays for the 1990s

Front Cover
Liz Jones
Currency Press, 1997 - Australian drama - 298 pages
Presents six plays produced by La Mama theatre company in the 1990s. 'The Hive', which won the Victorian Premier's Literary Award for Drama; 'It's My Party (And I'll Die If I Want To)', a black comedy; 'Dark Heart', a violent hostage drama, 'Texas, Queensland' a poetic play which won the Wal Cherry play of the year award in 1992; 'Inconsolable', the third play in a trilogy (following 'The Large Breast or the Upside Down Bell' and 'The Infertility of Objects'); and 'No Man's Island', a play for two actors dealing with the relationship of two men in prison. The editor has a long involvement with La Mama and was awarded the 1994 Kenneth Myer Medallion for the Performing Arts by the Victorian Arts Centre Trust.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


Its My Party And Ill Die If I Want
Dark Heart
Texas Queensland

2 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1997)

Jones joined London's Sunday Times in 1988, where she is now senior editor.

Bibliographic information