The Maze Runner 1

Front Cover
Delacorte Press, 2009 - Juvenile Fiction - 375 pages
The first book in the "New York Times" bestselling Maze Runner series--"The Maze Runner" is a modern classic, perfect for fans of "The Hunger Games" and "Divergent."
When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his first name. His memory is blank. But he's not alone. When the lift's doors open, Thomas finds himself surrounded by kids who welcome him to the Glade--a large, open expanse surrounded by stone walls.
Just like Thomas, the Gladers don't know why or how they got to the Glade. All they know is that every morning the stone doors to the maze that surrounds them have opened. Every night they've closed tight. And every thirty days a new boy has been delivered in the lift.
Thomas was expected. But the next day, a girl is sent up--the first girl to ever arrive in the Glade. And more surprising yet is the message she delivers.
Thomas might be more important than he could ever guess. If only he could unlock the dark secrets buried within his mind.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
435
4 stars
416
3 stars
244
2 stars
143
1 star
62

Review: The Maze Runner (The Maze Runner #1)

User Review  - Goodreads

** New Update I bump up the rating of this book from 2 stars to 4 because the movie was good. I think books like the Maze Runner only had good actions. The main character is flat. But fortunately, the ... Read full review

Review: The Maze Runner (The Maze Runner #1)

User Review  - Goodreads

I probably would have liked it more if I liked Thomas but he was so annoying God Read full review

All 14 reviews »

Selected pages

Contents

I
4
II
12
III
21
IV
29
V
35
VI
41
VII
48
VIII
57
XXXIII
217
XXXIV
223
XXXV
232
XXXVI
239
XXXVII
247
XXXVIII
255
XXXIX
259
XL
265

IX
66
X
71
XI
79
XII
84
XIII
91
XIV
95
XV
103
XVI
112
XVII
118
XVIII
125
XIX
129
XX
133
XXI
138
XXII
145
XXIII
151
XXIV
158
XXV
163
XXVI
168
XXVII
175
XXVIII
184
XXIX
190
XXX
195
XXXI
200
XXXII
209
XLI
271
XLII
277
XLIII
281
XLIV
286
XLV
291
XLVI
296
XLVII
297
XLVIII
301
XLIX
306
L
309
LI
314
LII
319
LIII
324
LIV
328
LV
335
LVI
341
LVII
346
LVIII
351
LIX
358
LX
364
LXI
369
LXII
372
LXIII
374
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2009)

JAMES DASHNER is the author of the "New York Times" bestselling Maze Runner series as well as the books in the 13th Reality series and Infinity Ring Book 1: "A""Mutiny in Time." He was born and raised in Georgia but now lives and writes in the Rocky Mountains. To learn more about him and his books, visit JamesDashner.com.

Bibliographic information