The Official History of the Olympic Games and the IOC – Part I: The Early Years (1894–1936)

Front Cover
Random House, Apr 19, 2012 - Sports & Recreation - 278 pages
0 Reviews

The Official History of the Olympic Games and the IOC: Athens to London 1894–2012 is a dramatic account of the history of the world’s foremost sporting spectacle. It is the lavishly illustrated story of the re-creation of the Olympic Games by Pierre de Coubertin, of the often controversial fortunes of the governing body, which was formed in 1894, and of the highs and lows of the Olympics themselves since the first Games in 1896.

It also tells the stories of the historic competitors – from Spyridon Louis (the inaugural marathon winner) and such heroes as Jim Thorpe, Paavo Nurmi, Sonja Henie, Jesse Owens, Fanny Blankers-Koen, Emil Zátopek, Herb Elliott, Kip Keino, Mark Spitz, Franz Klammer, Sebastian Coe and Carl Lewis through to Hicham El Guerrouj, Michael Phelps and Ya-Na Kim.

Each chapter begins with a personal reminiscence by either a famous champion or a notable IOC figure. Detailed background is provided to the many crises: the Nazi Games of 1936; the massacre at Mexico City in 1968; the terrorist slaughter of Israelis at the 1972 Munich Games; the boycotts; the advent of professionals from 1988; and the Ben Johnson scandal and the ongoing threat of drug abuse.

As the sporting world awaits, with eager expectation, the 2012 Games in London, this book gives an unparalleled account of the Olympics story from its beginnings in Athens 1894 to the build-up to the Games in London. This, the first volume of three ebooks, covers the early years (1894–1936).


What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


Title Page Copyright Preface
The Early Years 18941936
Foundation Baron Pierre de Coubertin
Greek Mentor Demetrius Vikelas
Athens I 1896 Spyridon Louis Chapter IV Visionary Baron Pierre de Coubertin
Paris II 1900 E lon Pool Chapter VI American Farce James E Sullivan
St Louis Ill 1904 Emil Breitkreutz Chapter VIII Back to Athens on to London Rev Robert S de CourcyLaffan
London IV 1908 Dorando Pietri
Enchantment Viktor Gustav Balck
Stockholm V 1912 Jim Thorpe
Chapter Xll WarTorn Comte Henri de BailletLatour
Chapter Xlll Antwerp VII 1920 Suzanne Lenglen Chapter XIV Expansion Anita DeFrantz

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2012)

David Miller has been a journalist since leaving Cambridge University in 1956 and has covered 19 Summer and Winter Olympic Games, and 13 World Cup football finals. He is the former chief sports correspondent of The Times and currently writes for the Daily Telegraph. He is the author of biographies of Matt Busby, Stanley Matthews, Sebastian Coe, and Juan Antonio Samaranch (translated into eight languages), and is joint author of IAAF 80, a history of 80 years of the International Association of Athletics Federations.

Bibliographic information