The Ones We're Meant to Find

Front Cover
Roaring Brook Press, May 4, 2021 - Young Adult Fiction - 336 pages
8 Reviews
Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified

A New York Times Bestseller
An Indie Bestseller


Perfect for fans of Marie Lu and E. Lockhart, The Ones We're Meant to Find is a gripping and heartfelt YA sci-fi with mind-blowing twists. Set in a climate-ravaged future, Joan He's beautifully written novel follows the story of two sisters, separated by an ocean, desperately trying to find each other.

Cee has been trapped on an abandoned island for three years without any recollection of how she arrived, or memories from her life prior. All she knows is that somewhere out there, beyond the horizon, she has a sister named Kay, and it’s up to Cee to cross the ocean and find her.

In a world apart, 16-year-old STEM prodigy Kasey Mizuhara lives in an eco-city built for people who protected the planet?and now need protecting from it. With natural disasters on the rise due to climate change, eco-cities provide clean air, water, and shelter. Their residents, in exchange, must spend at least a third of their time in stasis pods, conducting business virtually whenever possible to reduce their environmental footprint. While Kasey, an introvert and loner, doesn’t mind the lifestyle, her sister Celia hated it. Popular and lovable, Celia much preferred the outside world. But no one could have predicted that Celia would take a boat out to sea, never to return.

Now it’s been three months since Celia’s disappearance, and Kasey has given up hope. Logic says that her sister must be dead. But nevertheless, she decides to retrace Celia’s last steps. Where they’ll lead her, she does not know. Her sister was full of secrets. But Kasey has a secret of her own.

 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
1
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0

Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - tuusannuuska - LibraryThing

A book as disappointing as this doesn't deserve a cover this pretty. The premise of this book is so good, and if you summed up the plot in under 500 words, I'd say it was a story made for me. I just ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Herenya - LibraryThing

This story alternates between Cee, stuck on an an uninhabited island with holes in her memory but determined to find her sister Kay, and Kasey, a socially-isolated teenage in a floating “e-city”, who ... Read full review

Selected pages

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2021)

Joan He was born and raised in Philadelphia but still will, on occasion, lose her way. At a young age, she received classical instruction in oil painting before discovering that stories were her favorite kind of art. She studied psychology and Chinese history at the University of Pennsylvania and currently writes from a desk overlooking the city waterfront. She is the author of Descendant of the Crane, her young adult debut novel.

Bibliographic information