The Pritzker Architecture Prize: the first twenty years

Front Cover
Harry N. Abrams in association with the Art Institute of Chicago, 1999 - Architecture - 207 pages
'The Pritzker Architecture Prize' has often been described as the 'Nobel of architecture' because of its great importance. It was established in 1979 to honor annually 'a living architect of talent, vision, and commitment who has produced consistent and significant contributions to humanity and the built environment through the art of architecture'. Over the past two decades, many of the most outstanding international architects have received this highly coveted award, and their works are among the finest examples of contemporary architecture throughout the world. This volume is published on the occasion of an exhibition at the Art Institute of Chicago that surveys the Pritzker Architecture Prize's twenty-year history.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

The Pritzker Architecture Prize: the first twenty years

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

The annual Pritzker Architecture Prize, often described as the Nobel prize of architecture, was established by the Hyatt Foundation in 1979. The list of past Pritzker winners reads like an ... Read full review


Foreword James N Wood
A Word from the Chairman of the Jury Carter Brown
The First Twenty Years Bill N Lacy

21 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1999)

Thorne, a resident of Chicago, is associate curator of architecture at The Art Institute of Chicago.

Colin Amery is architecture correspondent for the Financial Times. Brian Curran, Jr., is director of projects for the World Monuments Fund in Great Britain. Chris Caldicott's photographs have appeared in newspapers and magazines including The Independent, The Sunday Times, and Geographical Magazine,
and in two books, World Food Cafe and The Spice Routes.

Bibliographic information