The Progressive Presidents : Roosevelt, Wilson, Roosevelt, Johnson

Front Cover
Norton, 1980 - Executive power - 221 pages
Advocates of a strong versus a weak presidency have struggled throughout American history, but never so fiercely as in the twentieth century, which saw the rise of progressivism. This is the story of four progressive presidents, from the first Roosevelt, who himself brought plenty of backbone to the office, to Woodrow Wilson, who articulated the theory of a progressive presidency, to FDR, who brought it unique power, and finally, to Lyndon Johnson, who provided perhaps its last great surge in our century. In a time of progressive malaise, it is important to know the history, to see the benefits as well as the liabilities, in the progressive presidential tradition. That is the aim and achievement of this book. --From cover.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Other editions - View all

Bibliographic information