The Rooms of Heaven

Front Cover
Vintage Books, Apr 1, 2000 - Biography & Autobiography - 336 pages
"A love story, a memoir, a haunting tale of grief and healing. This book is all that and more." --Chicago Tribune

In the tradition of Susanna Kaysen's Girl, Interrupted and Caroline Knapp's Drinking: A Love Story, Mary Allen tells a riveting love story that explores the uncharted territory between passion and  addiction, grief and madness, this world and the next.

When Mary Allen falls in love with Jim Beaman, she doesn't know he has a drug problem, but she does sense demons and angels around him, like "a disturbance in the air, a sound just beyond the register of human hearing." And when Jim--discouraged and depressed, struggling with his addiction--kills himself a year into their relationship, Allen is unable to let him go. In her desperate attempts to recover from the loss, she uses a Ouija board and automatic writing to pull back from reality into the dark recesses of her mind, where she believes she can find him. The result is a mesmerizing trip across the boundaries between this world and the afterlife, a journey that leads her to the brink of insanity and ultimately back to herself.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

THE ROOMS OF HEAVEN: A Story of Love, Death, Grief, and the Afterlife

User Review  - Kirkus

Allen's first book is an alternately intense and funny memoir that will touch a chord for anyone who has experienced the pain of a loved one's addiction and violent death. Allen decided to remain in ... Read full review

The Rooms of heaven: a story of love, death, grief, and the afterlife

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

Only after her fianc 's suicide did Allen realize that, somehow, she knew he had been abusing drugs. Writing with great insight, she reconstructs her relationship with Jim, from their first powerful ... Read full review

Contents

Section 1
3
Section 2
5
Section 3
27
Copyright

26 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2000)

Mary Allen lives in Iowa City, Iowa.

Bibliographic information