The Sorority Murder: A Novel

Front Cover
MIRA, Dec 28, 2021 - Fiction - 400 pages
6 Reviews
Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified
“The 10 Best New Mystery and Thriller Books of December are Giving Us Literal Chills”—E! Online


“10 Books to Cozy Up With This December”—PopSugar


A popular sorority girl. An unsolved murder. A campus podcast with chilling repercussions.

Lucas Vega is obsessed with the death of Candace Swain, who left a sorority party one night and never came back. Her body was found after two weeks, but the case has grown cold. Three years later while interning at the medical examiner's, Lucas discovers new information, but the police are not interested.

Lucas knows he has several credible pieces of the puzzle. He just isn't sure how they fit together. So he creates a podcast to revisit Candace's last hours. Then he encourages listeners to crowdsource what they remember and invites guest lecturer Regan Merritt, a former US marshal, to come on and share her expertise.

New tips come in that convince Lucas and Regan they are onto something. Then shockingly one of the podcast callers turns up dead. Another hints at Candace's secret life, a much darker picture than Lucas imagined—and one that implicates other sorority sisters. Regan uses her own resources to bolster their theory and learns that Lucas is hiding his own secret. The pressure is on to solve the murder, but first Lucas must come clean about his real motives in pursuing this podcast—before the killer silences him forever.

"Fans of Jeff Abbott and Karin Slaughter will find this crime novel hard to put down." —Publishers Weekly on The Third to Die

"Downright spectacular… [A] riveting page turner as prescient as it is purposeful." —Providence Journal on Tell No Lies
 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
1
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0

Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Jynell - LibraryThing

Are you a true crime podcast listener? If so, this book is a must read! Lucas isn't just interested in the death of Candace, he's obsessed. This obsession leads to the creation of a podcast. The ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - rmarcin - LibraryThing

Lucas Vega is trying to shine some light on the death of Candace Swain, a sorority girl who was his tutor. He decides to do a podcast to try to uncover some clues, but it is 3 years after her body was ... Read full review

Selected pages

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2021)

ALLISON BRENNAN is the New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author of over thirty novels. She has been nominated for Best Paperback Original Thriller by International Thriller Writers and the Daphne du Maurier Award. A former consultant in the California State Legislature, Allison lives in Arizona with her husband, five kids and assorted pets.

Bibliographic information