They Both Die at the End

Front Cover
HarperCollins, Sep 5, 2017 - Young Adult Fiction - 400 pages
11 Reviews

Adam Silvera reminds us that there’s no life without death and no love without loss in this devastating yet uplifting story about two people whose lives change over the course of one unforgettable day.

New York Times bestseller * 4 starred reviews * A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year * A Kirkus Best Book of the Year * A Booklist Editors' Choice of 2017 * A Bustle Best YA Novel of 2017 * A Paste Magazine Best YA Book of 2017 * A Book Riot Best Queer Book of 2017 * A Buzzfeed Best YA Book of the Year * A BookPage Best YA Book of the Year

On September 5, a little after midnight, Death-Cast calls Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio to give them some bad news: They’re going to die today.

Mateo and Rufus are total strangers, but, for different reasons, they’re both looking to make a new friend on their End Day. The good news: There’s an app for that. It’s called the Last Friend, and through it, Rufus and Mateo are about to meet up for one last great adventure—to live a lifetime in a single day.

In the tradition of Before I Fall and If I Stay, They Both Die at the End is a tour de force from acclaimed author Adam Silvera, whose debut, More Happy Than Not, the New York Times called “profound.”

 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - cathishaw - LibraryThing

I loved and hated this book. In an alternate present day, people receive a call just after midnight letting them know it is their "end day." Teenage boys Mateo and Rufus, two strangers, each receive ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Virago77 - LibraryThing

Before I get into the story, I want to say that I loved the diversity/representation portrayed in this book. There are people from different races, ethnicities, walks-of-life, social status, and ... Read full review

All 5 reviews »

Contents

The Beginning
The Last Friend
The
Acknowledgments
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2017)

Adam Silvera is the New York Times bestselling author of They Both Die at the End, History Is All You Left Me, and More Happy Than Not, for which he was named a Publishers Weekly Flying Start. Born and raised in the Bronx, Adam was a bookseller before shifting to children’s publishing. He has worked at a literary development company and a creative writing website for teens and as a book reviewer of children’s and young adult novels. He is tall for no reason and lives in New York City. Visit him online at www.adamsilvera.com.

Bibliographic information