They Both Die at the End

Front Cover
HarperCollins, Sep 5, 2017 - Young Adult Fiction - 416 pages

Adam Silvera reminds us that there’s no life without death and no love without loss in this devastating yet uplifting story about two people whose lives change over the course of one unforgettable day.

New York Times bestseller * 4 starred reviews * A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year * A Kirkus Best Book of the Year * A Booklist Editors' Choice of 2017 * A Bustle Best YA Novel of 2017 * A Paste Magazine Best YA Book of 2017 * A Book Riot Best Queer Book of 2017 * A Buzzfeed Best YA Book of the Year * A BookPage Best YA Book of the Year

On September 5, a little after midnight, Death-Cast calls Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio to give them some bad news: They’re going to die today.

Mateo and Rufus are total strangers, but, for different reasons, they’re both looking to make a new friend on their End Day. The good news: There’s an app for that. It’s called the Last Friend, and through it, Rufus and Mateo are about to meet up for one last great adventure—to live a lifetime in a single day.

In the tradition of Before I Fall and If I Stay, They Both Die at the End is a tour de force from acclaimed author Adam Silvera, whose debut, More Happy Than Not, the New York Times called “profound.”

 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
16
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - ayoshina - LibraryThing

Imagine getting a call in the middle of the night and being told that you would have less than twenty-four hours to live while in the mist of that, you’ll not be informed when and how you’re going to ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - mjspear - LibraryThing

In this imagined future world, you not only know when you're going to die... you have 24 hour notice. Death-cast has called both Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio and despite their differences they ... Read full review

All 9 reviews »

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2017)

Adam Silvera is the New York Times bestselling author of They Both Die at the End, More Happy Than Not, and History Is All You Left Me and—together with Becky Albertalli—coauthor of What If It’s Us. He was named a Publishers Weekly Flying Start. Adam was born and raised in the Bronx. He was a bookseller before shifting to children’s publishing and has worked at a literary development company and a creative writing website for teens and as a book reviewer of children’s and young adult novels. He is tall for no reason and lives in Los Angeles. Visit him online at www.adamsilvera.com.

Bibliographic information