Tuck Everlasting

Front Cover
Trumpet Club, 1975 - Juvenile Fiction - 139 pages
249 Reviews
A moving and superb piece of storytelling, the theme of this book is no less profound than the meaning and place of death in the universe of living things, handled, however, by Babbitt in a deft and gentle manner and with believable characters that never lose touch with her young audiences. The Tuck family are doomed to - or blessed with eternal life after drinking from a magic spring. Ten-year-old Winnie Foster stumbles on their secret and the Tucks take her home and try to explain why living forever at one age is less a blessing than it might seem. Trouble arises when a stranger who follows Winnie wants to market the spring water for a fortune.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - longhorndaniel - LibraryThing

Truly a wonderful story. We fell in love with the Tucks just as Winnie did; the writing is truly superb and makes you wish she had written several epic adult novels. Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - mcelhra - LibraryThing

This book asks a question, “Would you want to live forever?” but does not have an answer. It makes for a great book to read and discuss with your kids. It will challenge them to think critically. And ... Read full review

All 18 reviews »


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

23 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

All Book Search results »

About the author (1975)

Natalie Babbitt was born July 28, 1932, and grew up in Ohio. As a child, Babbit wanted to be an illustrator, and went on to specialize in art at Laurel School in Cleveland and at Smith College. She and her husband decided to collaborate on a children's book, The Forty-Ninth Magician which was published by Pantheon in 1966. After her husband accepted a position as president of a college, Babbitt found herself without a writer, so she decided to try becoming her own author. Her first two books were Dick Foote and the Shark and Phoebe's Revolt, followed by The Search for Delicious and then Kneeknock Rise, a Newbery Honor title, The Something, and Goody Hall. Babbitt has illustrated five books for Valerie Worth. She has written and illustrated two books of stories about the devil called The Devil's Storybook and The Devil's Other Storybook. Between these came three novels: Tuck Everlasting, The Eyes of the Amaryllis and Herbert Rowbarge.

Bibliographic information