Front Cover
Minerva, Mar 21, 1997 - Historical fiction - 381 pages
2 Reviews

The reissue in Vintage Classics marks the 20th anniversary of first publication.
At the heart of this novel lies the fictional village of Ulverton. It is the fixed point in a book that spans three hundred years. Different voices tell the story of Ulverton: one of Cromwell's soldiers staggers home to find his wife remarried and promptly disappears, an eighteenth century farmer carries on an affair with a maid under his wife's nose, a mother writes letters to her imprisoned son, a 1980s real estate company discover a soldier's skeleton, dated to the time of Cromwell.
Told through diaries, sermons, letters, drunken pub conversations and film scripts this is a masterful novel that reconstructs the unrecorded history of England.

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - mbmackay - LibraryThing

Three centuries of a fictional English village told in the voices of 7 residents over the ages. OK, but failed to grab me. Read in Samoa July 2002 Read full review


User Review  - Jane Doe - Kirkus

Multifaceted and many-voiced: a complex debut that's a saga of an English village viewed over more than three centuries, and conveyed as a series of distinct but interrelated episodes involving ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (1997)

Poet, playwright and novelist Adam Thorpe was born in Paris in 1956 and grew up in India, Cameroon and England. After graduating from Magdalen College, Oxford, in 1979, he started a theatre company and toured villages and schools before moving to London where he taught Drama and English Literature. His first collection of poetry, Mornings in the Baltic (1988), was shortlisted for the 1988 Whitbread Poetry Award. His other books of poetry are Meeting Montaigne""(1990) and From the Neanderthal""(1999). He was awarded an Eric Gregory Award in 1985.
Thorpe's first novel, Ulverton (1992), was published to great critical acclaim and won the Winifred Holtby Memorial Prize in 1992. Following this were the novels Still (1995) and Pieces of Light (1998). In 2000 he published a book of short stories, Shifts""(2000), and then another novel, Nineteen Twenty-One""(2001). Adam's latest novel, No Telling, is published in 2003.
Adam Thorpe lives in France with his wife and three children.

Bibliographic information