Under Enemy Colors

Front Cover
Penguin, 2007 - Fiction - 486 pages
5 Reviews
A sweeping novel of maritime mutiny set against the backdrop of the French Revolution that evokes such masters as Patrick O'Brian and Bernard Cornwell.

At the time of the French Revolution, one of Britain's most skillful naval officers, Charles Saunders Hayden, is a young lieutenant, the son of an English father and a French mother. His abilities and his loyalty to the king of England are beyond dispute, yet his career seems doomed by his "mixed" heritage and lack of political connections. Consequently, Hayden is assigned to an aging frigate, the Themis, under the command of Captain Josiah Hart, a man known as "Faint Hart" throughout the service.

As the Themis takes to sea to harass the enemy, the disaffection of the crew begins to boil over into acts of violence, and the lieutenant finds himself caught between his superior and a crew pushed toward mutiny. A revolution at sea ensues, and Hayden is wrenchingly torn between honor and duty, as the magnificent Royal Navy engages the French in a centuries-old struggle for power.

This is a novel that satisfies on all levels, and will be loved by a wide range of readers: Patrick O'Brian's adoring literary following, as well as readers who love Bernard Cornwell, Steven Pressfield, and Jeff Shaara. Its scenes of maritime warfare match, and even surpass, O'Brian's for majesty and drama.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - janerawoof - LibraryThing

My first nautical novel since my reading Hornblower novels and Bounty Trilogy of years past. This one engaged my interest all through. The hero, Charles Hayden, of mixed parentage [French mother ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - DWWilkin - LibraryThing

I purchased this book sometime ago, and had not gotten around to reading it. Then I won the 3rd book in the series, and so went searching for this first book. I have done myself a disservice by not ... Read full review

Contents

Section 1
3
Section 2
6
Section 3
12
Section 4
32
Section 5
50
Section 6
55
Section 7
65
Section 8
76
Section 16
234
Section 17
247
Section 18
260
Section 19
275
Section 20
307
Section 21
334
Section 22
367
Section 23
392

Section 9
96
Section 10
98
Section 11
108
Section 12
135
Section 13
162
Section 14
174
Section 15
222
Section 24
448
Section 25
450
Section 26
470
Section 27
483
Section 28
487
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2007)

S. Thomas Russell is a lifelong sailor whose passion for the sea-and his love of nautical history-inspired Under Enemy Colors.

Bibliographic information