Under the Wheat

Front Cover
HarperCollins Publishers, 1987 - Fiction - 157 pages
0 Reviews

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

Under the wheat

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

DeMarinis, author of five books of fiction, is this year's winner of the Drue Heinz Literature Prize. In his story "The Smile of a Turtle,'' an archetypical salesman is selling a fisheye lens for a ... Read full review


Good Wars
The Smile of a Turtle
Life Between Meals

1 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1987)

Rick Demarinis is the author of numerous novels and short story collections including The Year of the Zinc Penny, The Mortician's Apprentice, A Clod of Wayward Marl, The Voice of America: Stories, His Borrowed Hearts: New and Selected Stories, and The Art and Craft of the Short Story. His short stories have appeared in several magazines and journals including Esquire, The Atlantic Monthly, Harpers, GQ, The Paris Review, and The Iowa Review. He has won many awards including the Drue Heinz Prize for short fiction, the Literature Award from the American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters, the Jesse H. Jones Award for fiction from the Texas Institute of Letters, and the Independent Publishers Award for the best book of short fiction. He has taught creative writing at the University of Montana, San Diego State University, Arizona State University, and the University of Texas at El Paso.

Bibliographic information