Under the Pomegranate Tree: The Best New Latino Erotica

Front Cover
Ray González
Washington Square Press, 1996 - Fiction - 362 pages
0 Reviews
Sensual, diverse, and electrifying, the first major collection of Latino erotica redefines our perceptions of Latin American and U.S. Latino writers. By turns suggestive and explicit, Under the Pomegranate Tree is woven within a framework of fantasies, dreams, and memory. Brought together from a wide-ranging group of contributors, the stories, essays, and poems in this rich anthology emerge as a vibrant force for breaking social barriers and capturing our collective imaginations.
The themes are varied and colorful, from first sexual experiences to love with a stranger, from relationships without roots to heterosexual and homosexual love, from international politics to the new roles of Latino men and Latina women. The styles, from vivid storytelling to magical realism, mirror the historical, religious, and political influences that have shaped Latino writing for centuries.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


Spring Shining
Elena Poniatowska
Francisco Alarcón

17 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1996)

Ray Gonzalez received his MFA in creative writing from Texas State University and is a professor in the English Department and Creative Writing Program at the University of Minnesota. He is the author of ten books of poetry including Faith Run (University of Arizona Press, 2009); Cool Auditor: Prose Poems (BOA Editions, 2009); The Religion of Hands (2005), which received the 2006 Latino Heritage Award for Best Book of Poetry; The Hawk Temple at Tierra Grande Poems (2002), a winner of a 2003 Minnesota Book Award; Turtle Pictures (2000), a winner of a 2001 Minnesota Book Award; and The Heat of Arrivals (1996), a winner of a 1997 PEN/Josephine Miles Book Award. He is the author of three books of nonfiction: Renaming the Earth: Personal Essays (University of Arizona Press, 2008), Memory Fever (1999), and The Underground Heart: A Return to a Hidden Landscape: Essays (2002), which received the 2003 Carr P. Collins/Texas Institute of Letters Award for Best Book of Nonfiction. He is also the author of two books of short stories: The Ghost of John Wayne, and Other Stories (2001) and Circling the Tortilla Dragon: Short-Short Fiction (2002). His poetry has appeared in the 1999, 2000, and 2003 editions of The Best American Poetry.

Bibliographic information