Valeria's Last Stand: A Novel

Front Cover
Bloomsbury USA, Apr 28, 2009 - Fiction - 272 pages
27 Reviews

A comic romp celebrating late-flowering love in a Hungarian village that will appeal to readers of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and A Short History of Tractors in Ukrainian.

Valeria is a whale in a puddle. She harrumphs her daily way through her backwater Hungarian village, finding equal fault with the new, the old, the foreign, and the familiar. Her decades of universal contempt have turned her into a touchstone of her little community—whatever she scorns the least must be the best, after all. But, on a day like any other, her spinster's heart is struck by an unlikely arrow: The village potter, long known and little noticed, captures her fancy, and Valeria finds herself suddenly cast in a role she never expected to play. This one deviation from character, this one loose thread, is all it takes for the delicately woven fabric of village life to unravel. And, for the first time in a long time, Valeria couldn't care less. With humor and sensitivity, author Marc Fitten delivers an unexpected and entirely inspiring first novel that will leave you begging for more.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Carlie - LibraryThing

The novel opens with Valeria, a crotchety old woman who lives in a small rural village in Hungary. She is not well liked and is a bit of a bully. One day in the market, she sees the potter and is ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - SashaM - LibraryThing

A good quick read. Read it in about 6 hours I liked the characters and the story moves along well. It could have been set in any number of small towns in any number of countries but the author clearly ... Read full review


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

20 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2009)

Marc Fitten was born in Brooklyn in 1974 to Panamanian parents. He spent much of the 1990s living and traveling in Europe, based in Hungary. He's been published in Prairie Schooner, the Louisville Review, and the Hogtown Creek Review, and has published a napkin online at Esquire. Marc is a Ph.D. student at Georgia State University and received the Paul Bowles Fellowship for Fiction. He is currently the editor of the Chattahoochee Review.

Bibliographic information