Volume 1: The Awakening & The Struggle: Books 1 & 2

Front Cover
Hachette Children's Group, Feb 3, 2011 - Juvenile Fiction - 416 pages
9 Reviews

The Awakening: Elena Gilbert is used to getting what she wants and she wants mysterious new boy, Stefan. But Stefan is hiding a deadly secret - a secret that will change Elena's life for ever ...

The Struggle: Elena is torn between her boyfriend, Stefan, and his brother, Damon. But these brothers hide dark secrets and a tragic past that threatens them all. Damon wants to lead Elena astray - and he'd rather kill Stefan than let him possess her ...

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

I completed the novels some years ago, but in doing a comparison to the television series for my blog I gave them a second read…
I did like the darkness in the novels, especially in the debut, and
the premise of the story has great potential. There are a great many elements I find intriguing in L.J. Smith’s books, but ultimately it was their execution, and possible the writing style that fell short of making Stefan and company compelling for me.
Maybe I’ve grown any fascination for Smith’s world?
I will say I like the characters of Stefan and Damon are wicked and mysterious; and even though they are aged vampires, they still manage to connect and project a lot of teen angst. As for Elena, she’s innocent, wounded and ballsy.
The style of the novels is more for a tween market as evident in the narrative, resulting in an easy and fast read. Though there are a great many unpredictable plot twists that kept me entertained.
An okay read, but nothing I would recommend to anyone over the age of fourteen.

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

luv this buk

All 6 reviews »

Other editions - View all

About the author (2011)

L J smith is the globally best-selling author of more than 20 books for young adults, including the cult phenomenon, the Night World sequence. Since childhood she has been fascinated by the night, and the way the ordinary world changes when darkness falls. She lives in northern California in a rambling house in a small town.

Bibliographic information