Van Gogh's Room at Arles

Front Cover
Open Road Media, Oct 26, 2010 - Fiction - 312 pages
0 Reviews

Three witty and poignant novellas from a twentieth-century literary master at the peak of his craftVan Gogh’s Room at Arles is Stanley Elkin’s second collection of novellas, a razor-sharp exploration of three characters suffering under the weight of intellectual, physical, and social burdens. In the collection’s title story, Elkin writes of an insecure professor’s scholarly retreat with the most accomplished members of his field. “Her Sense of Timing” is a story of a man who, though confined to a wheelchair, attempts to throw a party without the help of his absent wife. And in “Confessions of a Princess Manque,” Elkin writes of the Prince of Wales’s love affair with a common woman in a parody of a sensationalist tabloid story.This ebook features rare photos and never-before-seen documents from the author’s estate and from the Stanley Elkin archives at Washington University in St. Louis.


What people are saying - Write a review


User Review  - Jane Doe - Kirkus

From Elkin (The MacGuffin, Pieces of Soap, etc.), three novellas that limn with controlled passion and wry humor the anguish of disjointedness—of not quite catching "the beautiful ruin of the world ... Read full review

Van Gogh's room at Arles: three novellas

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

In "Her Sense of Timing,'' a professor of political geography paralyzed by a "degenerative neurological disease'' (obviously the multiple sclerosis that also affects Elkin) tries to host a party ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2010)

Stanley Elkin (1930–1995) was an award-winning author of novels, short stories, and essays. Born in the Bronx, Elkin received his BA and PhD from the University of Illinois and in 1960 became a professor of English at Washington University in St. Louis where he taught until his death. His critically acclaimed works include the National Book Critics Circle Award–winners George Mills (1982) and Mrs. Ted Bliss (1995), as well as the National Book Award finalists The Dick Gibson Show (1972), Searches and Seizures (1974), and The MacGuffin (1991). His book of novellas, Van Gogh’s Room at Arles, was a finalist for the PEN Faulkner Award.

Bibliographic information