Vignettes: A Collection of Short Stories

Front Cover
Linda Ruth Brooks, Sep 1, 2011 - Fiction - 222 pages
0 Reviews
Brooks is at her finest in this cunning collection of short stories. Her trademark wit and sharp observation is crafted with depth and compassion, as she once again explores the gamut of human experience with fearless clarity and buoyant optimism. In this series, Linda gives full rein to her passion for the individual narratives of others. With deference and respect, she reveals the foibles and quirks of her varied characters, never losing the essence of the elegance and power of the human spirit. These stories are vignettes—windows into the lives of others, where equality and dignity is intrinsically woven into each tale. We see our friends, family and acquaintances. We make new friends and ultimately gain insight into our own true selves.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


Mum always said
Fear is a diligent master
A dish best served cold
A broken hallelujah
Hes mine now
Want to Go Home Now
An Angels tears
Ancient grief
Heartbreak Hotel
Between poetry and the gutter
This is NOT the time
Compass of the heart
The Legacy
Fate steps in
The tale of the armoire
Love redeemed restored

Eyes like the Ocean
Iss goot
Parlez vous francais?
Dont wake me Im working
Beths Christmas Wish
Getting my wings
Where do you begin a sad story?

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2011)

Linda was born and raised in Cooranbong, a small country town on the east coast of Australia, near Lake Macquarie. Her friends tell her she should be a stand-up comedienne, which is a good way to terrify Linda; she would rather write and paint.A Curious & Inelegant Childhood is Linda's first published book. She uploaded many of her warm and humorous stories to 'The Making of Modern Australia' website, run by the ABC, where they regularly ended up in the Highest Rated section. Her story A Dangerous Time was chosen by the producers as one of a few Featured Stories. Her stories also landed on top of the pile with readers and she caught the eye of a publisher. Her second book, I'm not broken, I'm just different is the story of her motherhood of a son with Asperger's Syndrome, and contains a feature chapter by Professor Tony Attwood. She has written and illustrated a companion book for children, which also deals with Asperger's, Callan the Chameleon.Linda is currently working on her next novella; based on her nursing training and experience. She has written and illustrated several other children's books and Under the Bracken Fern, a 'children's story for adults' dealing with child abuse. With a background in nursing, and a lot of life in general, she feels she has plenty more to write about.Visit her author site at

Bibliographic information