Waggoner's Way: A touching saga of family, friendship and love

Front Cover
Headline, Nov 24, 2011 - Fiction - 464 pages
0 Reviews

In a backstreet of East London, two families support each other through thick and thin.

Waggoner's Way is a poignant novel by much-loved author Harry Bowling that captures the spirit of a community often faced with brutal hardship - yet determined to laugh whilst doing so. Perfect for fans of Annie Murray and Dilly Court.

Waggoner's Way is a small back street in Bermondsey, home to a close-knit community of predominantly railway folk and their families. The Brennans and Kellys are among those who live there. They have been friends for years; Joe Brennan works as a train driver, Tom Kelly as a shunter; and Ada and Mary, their wives, patiently spend much of their time trying to untangle their children's tangled love lives. And, together, they help one another survive the worst of times.

What readers are saying about Waggoner's Way:

'I read this book in about three days! Fantastic, realistic, believable storytelling will have you rooting for the characters to overcome their hardships and will show the meaning of "love thy neighbour"'

'Just love Harry Bowling, he has a way of telling an East End story that makes it seem so real'

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Other editions - View all

About the author (2011)

Harry was born in 1931 in a back street off the Tower Bridge Road. Only when his own children began to ask questions about the war, did Harry realise how many stories he had to tell. He became known as 'the King of Cockney sagas', and he wrote eighteen bestselling novels of London life. After Harry died in 1999, the Harry Bowling Prize was set up in his memory.

Bibliographic information