Waiting for Columbus

Front Cover
Random House Incorporated, 2010 - Fiction - 336 pages
17 Reviews
A man arrives at an insane asylum in contemporary Spain claiming to be the legendary navigator Christopher Columbus. Who he really is, and the events that led him to break with reality, lie at the center of this captivating, romantic, and stunningly written novel.

Found in the treacherous Strait of Gibraltar, the mysterious man who calls himself Columbus appears to be just another delirious mental patient, until he begins to tell the “true” story of how he famously obtained three ships from Spanish royalty.

It's Nurse Consuela who listens to these fantastical tales of adventure and romance, and tries desperately to make sense of why this seemingly intelligent man has been locked up, and why no one has come to visit. As splintered fragments of the man beneath the fašade reveal a charming yet guarded individual, Nurse Consuela can't avoid the inappropriate longings she begins to feel. Something terrible caused his break with reality and she can only listen and wait as Columbus spins his tale to the very end.

In the tradition of The Story of Edgar Sawtelle and The Dogs of Babel, this unforgettable novel mines the darkest recesses of loss and the extraordinary capacity of the human spirit. It is an immensely satisfying novel that will introduce Thomas Trofimuk to readers who will want to hear his voice again and again.


From the Hardcover edition.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
6
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - LynnB - LibraryThing

This book is partly a mystery -- who is this man who believes he is Christopher Columbus, and why are the police looking for him? It is also an exploration of how we deal with trauma. The setting is ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Tracey8824 - LibraryThing

This story of a man who believes he is Christopher Columbus and the people he touches at the insane asylum is wonderful. I could not get enough of this book, right up until end. You wonder if you're ever going to find out who he really is and what happened to him. This is an amazing book. Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2010)

Thomas Trofimuk is a writer, editor, and communications consultant. His poetry and short fiction have been widely published in Canada to critical acclaim. He lives in Edmonton, Alberta, with his wife and daughter.

Bibliographic information