Waking the Moon

Front Cover
HarperCollins, Apr 1, 1996 - Fiction - 512 pages
6 Reviews
Steeped in the explosive passion and seductive power of Anne Rice, this novel is an unforgettable tale of modern love and ancient ritual. Within the imposing towers of Washington, D.C.'s University of the Archangels and St. John the Divine, a clandestine order prevails. The Benandanti has secretly manipulated every government, every church, every institution in the world since antiquity. But now the Moon Goddess has returned. And she wants her world back.

"An extraordinary work--An ambitious, erotically charged thriller" --Clive Barker, author of "Everville"

"A potent socio-erotic ghost story for our looming Millennium."

--William Gibson, author of "Neuromancer" and "Virtual Light"

- A critically acclaimed HarperPrism hardcover.

- For fans of "Donna Tartt" and "Anne Rice."

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
0
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Caryn.Rose - LibraryThing

So conflicted about this book. There was much I loved about it and much that started to be just *too much* as I worked my way through it. I couldn't put it down but at times getting through it was ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - raisedbybooks - LibraryThing

Waking the Moon is an incredibly engaging read. It is filled to the brim with Gothery and myth and mystery. I am a very big fan of dark and creepy novels, and it has been a long time since I have ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (1996)

Elizabeth Hand is the winner of both the Nebula and the World Fantasy Awards. She is the author of "Winterlong, Waking the Moon, Glimmering, Last Summer at Mars Hill, "and "Black Light." A noted critic, she is a frequent book reviewer for "The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, The Washington Post Book Review, "and "The Village Voice." She lives in Maine with her family.

Bibliographic information