Walking After Midnight

Front Cover
Pocket Books, Oct 1, 1986 - Fiction - 223 pages
0 Reviews
Having left her drunken husband, wrecked her 1957 Chevy, and spent time in an alcoholic-rehab center, wise-cracking, world-weary Lottie Jay embarks on a shining new career as a country-and-western songwriter

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

Walking after midnight: a novel

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

This first novel is a gritty, black-humored account of a woman's progress from hard-drinking farmwife to promising country-western songwriter. Lottie Jay is 29, married to a drunken farmer. When Judd ... Read full review


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

11 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1986)

Maureen McCoy is the author of three previous novels, DIVINING BLOOD (1992), SUMMERTIME (1987), and WALKING AFTER MIDNIGHT (1985), all published by Simon & Schuster. She received her MFA from the Writers Workshop, University of Iowa, and is a Professor of English at Cornell. Among her many awards are the James Michener Award, the Wurlitzer Foundation Award and the Albert Schweitzer Fellowship in Humanities, chosen by Toni Morrison.

Bibliographic information