Walking on Water: Reflections on Faith and Art

Front Cover
Macmillan, May 31, 1995 - Religion - 197 pages
In Walking On Water, Madeleine L'Engle addresses the questions, What makes art Christian? What does it mean to be a Christian artist? What is the relationship between faith and art? Through L'Engle's beautiful and insightful essay, readers will find themselves called to what the author views as the prime tasks of an artist: to listen, to remain aware, and to respond to creation through one's own art.

What people are saying - Write a review

An excellent book for artists.

User Review  - artbetty - Christianbook.com

Most people are familiar with Madeleine L'Engle as an author of the childrens' books, A Wrinkle in Time and A Wind At the Door, but, like me, were unaware of her books for adults. I had recently re ... Read full review

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

February 2010
L'Engle's reflections on creativity, christianity and art are assumption challenging, thought provoking, and eye opening. I recommend this book to anyone who is struggling to think outside the box.


1 Cosmos from Chaos
2 Icons of the True
3 Healed Whole and Holy 151
A Coal in the Hand 167
5 Probable Impossibles 179
6 Keeping the Clock Wound 193
Names and Labels 107
8 The Bottom of the Iceberg 125
9 Do We Want the Children To See It? 145
10 The Journey Homeward 159
11 The Other Side of Silence 171
12 Feeding the Lake 189

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1995)

Madeleine L’Engle (1918-2007) was the Newbery Medal-winning author of more than 60 books, including the much-loved A Wrinkle in Time. Born in 1918, L’Engle grew up in New York City, Switzerland, South Carolina and Massachusetts.  Her father was a reporter and her mother had studied to be a pianist, and their house was always full of musicians and theater people. L’Engle graduated cum laude from Smith College, then returned to New York to work in the theater. While touring with a play, she wrote her first book, The Small Rain, originally published in 1945. She met her future husband, Hugh Franklin, when they both appeared in The Cherry Orchard.  Upon becoming Mrs. Franklin, L’Engle gave up the stage in favor of the typewriter. In the years her three children were growing up, she wrote four more novels. Hugh Franklin temporarily retired from the theater, and the family moved to western Connecticut and for ten years ran a general store. Her book Meet the Austins, an American Library Association Notable Children's Book of 1960, was based on this experience.  Her science fantasy classic A Wrinkle in Time was awarded the 1963 Newbery Medal. Two companion novels, A Wind in the Door and A Swiftly Tilting Planet (a Newbery Honor book), complete what has come to be known as The Time Trilogy, a series that continues to grow in popularity with a new generation of readers. Her 1980 book A Ring of Endless Light won the Newbery Honor. L’Engle passed away in 2007 in Litchfield, Connecticut.

Bibliographic information