War of the Nations: The Caldwell Series

Front Cover
AuthorHouse, 2011 - Fiction - 440 pages
0 Reviews
War of the Nations: is a continuation of the story begun in Admirals and Generals. This fourth book describes in vivid detail what may have occurred in the United States Military under the Wilson Presidential administration. The Narration is by the son a career naval officer, born in Beaufort, South Carolina. He will also become an admiral and serve in the Army Navy Building and the White House, Washington D.C. The historical events of 1912 through 1920 are carefully followed. The Imagination of the author provides rich characters in powerful settings from the harbors of America to the ports of the European countries during the World War. The time old love story between men and women is woven throughout the book when the naval officer sons, marry the women of their dreams. The two sons have five children and so the naval officer now has grandchildren. Three generations of Navy men and women who loved them, learn to survive the entire period of history known as the war to end all wars. Scenes are set carefully with attention to accurate research of the low country of South Carolina as well as our Nation's Capital circa 1912-1920. The People's Standard History of the United States written by Edward S. Ellis and published by Western Book Syndicate and copyrighted by Woodfall Company have provided background materials, maps of the period and needed information on how the federal government was organized and functioned during this period of our history.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Selected pages

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2011)

Dan Ryan is Professor Emeritus, Clemson University, Clemson, South Carolina. He received his BA and MA degrees from the University of Northern Iowa, and his PhD from Pacific University. In his teaching career, he published sixteen textbooks, fifty-seven journal articles and numerous reports. He has been a frequent invited lecturer in the United States, England, Ireland, and China. His books have been translated into Russian, Polish and Chinese. He is also a member of the Tau Alpha Pi National Honor Society. He is an avid reader and student of American History. He has traveled to forty-seven countries on four continents. He has previously published ten books with Authorhouse and these are now available on WWW.Authorhouse.com. You can reach Dan via his email Danryanbooks@aol.com."Starting in May of 2009, Dan Ryan, began his Caldwell Series of novels set in Beaufort, South Carolina. 'Calm Before the Storm' was quickly followed by 'Death before Dishonor' and 'Lull After the Storm'. The next year two more novels in the series have been added, 'Admirals and Generals' and 'Admiral's Son General's Daughter'. Late in 2010, two more novels were added, 'Jigsaw' and 'Catywampus'. This years selection is called 'War of the Nations.'"- Barnes and Nobel Book Club"Two giant novels hit the scene in 2010, 'Admirals and Generals' and 'Admiral's Son General's Daughter'. These were close behind the heels of the Caldwell trilogy written in 2009. Dan Ryan has done it again with 'Jigsaw and Catywampus'. If you love history you will enjoy reading the Caldwell family experience through three generations."- Amazon Book Club"Dan Ryan's latest new novel, 'Jigsaw' was given to each member of the club before our monthly meeting. The discussion after reading the book was lively and divided along national boundaries of North and South. Ryan is a southern writer, but he understands a federal point of view and the complications created by the history of our military from 1843 to 1913."- Lady Rockers Book Club

Bibliographic information