Front Cover
Thorndike Press, 1988 - Fiction - 419 pages
3 Reviews
From #1 international bestseller Ian Rankin, an unlucky spy gets one last chance at redemption.Miles Flint is a spy who has been making some serious mistakes. His last assignment led to the death of a foreign official in London, and after getting too close to his current subject he wound up in police custody. But something is wrong at the agency that has nothing to do with Miles' errors. Why did his last suspect know more about Miles' assignment than Miles did? Why have so many operatives recently resigned? Despite the Director's assurances, Miles begins his own investigation, to the dismay of his colleagues and even his own wife. Then Miles is sent to Belfast on a routine mission, a mission that confirms his darkest suspicions--and threatens his life.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - JulesJones - LibraryThing

An early one from Rankin, a standalone spy novel written between writing the first and second Rebus novels. As it's the first book by Rankin I've read, I can't say how it compares with his series or ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - kconcannon - LibraryThing

Inspector Rebus is Ian Rankin's bread and butter. The series of mysteries that Rankin has written with Rebus as the main character are as dark as an Edinburgh close at three am. I have them all, I buy ... Read full review

All 3 reviews »


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

30 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1988)

Ian Rankin lives in Edinburgh, Scotland, with his wife and their two sons.

Bibliographic information