Web Site Story

Front Cover
Corgi, 2001 - Fiction - 380 pages
2 Reviews

They wrote it off as a scare story. The Millennium Bug, the non-event of the twentieth century. But they were wrong, because the Bug was real. Is real. It's a computer virus and it's about to make the deadly species cross-over, from machine to mankind. The Black Death was spread by rats. But this plague will be spread by a mouse. The computer mouse. And do you know how many different kinds of computer viruses there are? And just what they do? And just what they might do to you if you become infected? No? Then read this book and learn the terrible truth.

Or perhaps you'd rather take a holiday in BrentfordlandŽ? Formerly known as Brentford, this Thamesside Shangri La is now London's first ever suburban theme park and holiday village. A world of excitement, relaxation and fabulous fun, waiting just for you. To find out more, log on to the BrentfordlandŽ web site. Just give your computer mouse a wiggle.

Go on.

What harm can it do?

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - dtw42 - LibraryThing

Some of Mr Rankin's books are better than others. This was a good one. I was going to say "The Matrix in Brentford", but the one previous reviewer has already said that. The running gags are funny and don't outstay their welcome; not to mention the plot twists. Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Tyrshundr - LibraryThing

Copy of my Launchpad review from 2001: I have been to Brentford and this is not it; but then I am a reality deviant. Imagine the Matrix set in a London suburb. Now imagine it was written by a person ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2001)

Robert Rankin is the author of Web Site Story, Waiting for Godalming, Sex and Drugs and Sausage Rolls, Snuff Fiction, Apocalypso, The Dance of the Voodoo Handbag, Sprout Mask Replica, Nostradamus Ate My Hamster, A Dog Called Demolition, The Garden of Unearthly Delights, The Most Amazing Man Who Ever Lived, The Greatest Show Off Earth, Raiders of the Lost Car Park, The Book of Ultimate Truths, the Armageddon quartet (three books), and the Brentford trilogy (five books) which are all published by Corgi Books. Robert Rankin's latest novel, The Fandom of the Operator, is now available as a Doubleday hardback. For more information on Robert Rankin and his books, see his website at www.lostcarpark.com/sproutlore

Bibliographic information