Western septet: seven stories of the American West

Front Cover
Cherry Hill Books, 1973 - Fiction - 161 pages
0 Reviews

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


A Pair of Blue Eyes
A Spell of Enchantment
The Enchantment Deepens

11 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

About the author (1973)

Far more celebrated than any of his positivist contemporaries, Sienkiewicz began as a journalist and achieved considerable renown with his account of a two-year journey to the United States. Between 1882 and 1888 he wrote three historical novels dealing with political and military events in seventeenth-century Poland: With Fire and Sword, The Deluge (1886), and Fire in the Steppe (1888, also translated as Pan Michael). Although superficial in its analysis of historical events, the trilogy gained enormous popularity both in Poland and in other Slavic countries thanks to Sienkiewicz's masterful use of epic techniques and of the seventeenth-century colloquial idiom. Even more popular, if artistically far weaker, was his Quo Vadis? (1896), a novel about Rome in the age of Nero (Sienkiewicz's fame in the West is chiefly based on this work). Another historical novel, The Teutonic Knights (1900), deals with the fifteenth-century struggle between Poland-Lithuania and the Teutonic Order. Among his other works is The Po:eo@lcpl:esaniecki Family (1895), a work that extolled the virtues of philistinism and was sharply attacked by the progressive intelligentsia.

Bibliographic information