What I Meant was: New Plays and Selected One-acts

Front Cover
Theatre Communications Group, 1999 - Drama - 307 pages
0 Reviews
"God’s Heart is a play which dares to say very ugly things from a very moral place, which risks censure in an effort to reach an ugly truth; a play that’s wise to its own inescapable shortcomings and addresses them as part of its subject; a play which ought to have been greeted with exhilaration and joy, for it courageously refuses restraint and risks everything to live up to its impossible-to-live-up-to title.” -Tony Kushner, Civilization Magazine
"Best American play of the year! The Dying Gaul is Craig Lucas’s best work by far. This powerful parable jolts us with questions and doesn't insult us with answers.” -Donald Lyons, Wall Street Journal
"The Dying Gaul is a fascinating new play! Even more theatrically imaginative and engaging than Prelude to a Kiss! Craig Lucas is writing better than ever these days.” -Vincent Canby, New York Times

This volume contains two of Craig Lucas’s most powerful and provocative full-length plays--God’s Heart and The Dying Gaul--with a suite of nine one-act plays. Together they illustrate the remarkable range and scope of a truly original American playwright.

Other plays in this collection include:
What I Meant Was
Throwing Your Voice
The Boom Box
Bad Dream
If Columbus Does Not Figure in Your Travel Plans
Boyfriend Riff

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


Afterword to the dying gaul
If Columbus Does Not Figure

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1999)

Craig Lucas is a playwright, screenwriter and director. His plays include Prelude to a Kiss, Reckless, Blue Window, God’s Heart, The Singing Forest and Small Tragedy. His screenplays include Longtime Companion, The Secret Lives of Dentists and The Dying Gaul, which he also directed. Mr. Lucas’ awards include the L.A. Drama Critics Award, an OBIE Award for Best Play and Best Director, and the Excellence in Literature Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters.

Bibliographic information